First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Advisory Committee

Further to the Board’s Three Year Education Framework, we have formed our district-wide First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Students Advisory Committee, a key strategy in Outcome Two: The Achievement Gap Between First Nations, Métis and Inuit Students and All Other Students.

The formation of the committee began with the vision to create “two-eyed seeing” (Hogue & Bartlett, 2014):

 …learning to see from one eye the strengths of…the Indigenous knowledges and ways of knowing, and from the other eye to see with the strengths of… the Western (mainstream) knowledges and ways of knowing, but most importantly, learning to use both eyes together for the best of all (retrieved on August 29, 2016 from

As a diverse committee of external, district- and school-based members, our goals are:

  • To understand, share, and recommend strategies to enact Education for Reconciliation, which is part of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada: Calls to Action (2015) within our school communities.
  • To build capacity of all staff to bridge gaps in our First Nations, Métis, and Inuit students’ learning, achievement, and well-being through meaningful professional learning opportunities.

Advisory Committee Members

External Members

School-based Members

District-based Members

Edna Arcand,

Elder, Alexander First Nation

Ella Arcand,

Elder, Alexander First Nation

Thérèse deChamplain-Good,

Executive Director,

Edmonton Regional Learning Consortium 

Terry Godwaldt,

Executive Director,

Centre for Global Education

Jodi Stonehouse, Researcher,

Faculty of Native Studies,

University of Alberta 

Bishop Sylvain Lavoie,

Archbishop Emeritus,

Star of the North Centre





















Dolores Andressen, Teacher,

Bertha Kennedy Elementary School

Angela Gauthier,

Vice Principal,

St. Gabriel High School

Billie-Jo Grant, Teacher,

V.J. Maloney Junior High School

Dianne Hutton, Teacher,

École G.H. Primeau Middle School

Danielle Karaki, Vice Principal,

St. Albert Catholic High School

Phyllis Kelly, Teacher,

J.J. Nearing Elementary School

Cara Mazur, Vice Principal,

École G.H. Primeau Middle School

Raymonde Roulston, Principal,

École Notre Dame Elementary School

Darren Skalski, CTS Department Head,

St. Albert Catholic High School

Renée Trottier, Vice Principal,

Legal Elementary Junior High School










Rhonda Nixon - Committee Chair,

Assistant Superintendent,

Learning Services

Barb Brochu, Associate Superintendent,

Student Services

Colin Loiselle, Religious Education and

Christian Family Life Consultant

Rachel O’Brien, Early Learning Coordinator