First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Leadership Committee

Latest News - View Our Blog

The First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Leadership Committee was approved by the Board of Trustees on October 17, 2016 to provide governance-level guidance on how to share information and communication with parents and external agencies about the First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Advisory Committee’s work and recommendations. With the release of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada: Calls to Action (2015), guidance on efforts to honour cultural strengths in a changing world is the logical next step to the ongoing work of our established advisory committee. The leadership committee members are working together to develop relationships with indigenous leaders in our local communities with the goal of eliminating the achievement gap between First Nations, Métis, and Inuit  students and all other students within our district.

Members on the Committee:

Trustees:  Joan Crockett, Réne Tremblay, and Serena Shaw

Administration:  D.Keohane, Superintendent, R. Nixon, Assistant Superintendent, B. Brochu, Associate Superintendent, C. Bruineman, Communications Manager

Alexander First Nation: Elders - Edna Arcand & Ella Arcand; Jody Kootney, Director of Education; Verna Arcand, Assistant Director

Star of the North: Archbishop Emeritus Sylvain Lavoie

Community at Large: Gwen Crouse, City of St. Albert 

Meeting Dates/Summaries:

2018/19 School Year - Meetings Call to Action Updates 2017/2018 School Year - Meetings Call to Action Updates 2016/17 School Year - Meetings

September 28, 2018












September 2018












September 29, 2017

October 31, 2017 (cancelled)

December 21, 2017

January 19, 2018

March 15, 2018 (cancelled)

April 17, 2018

June 6, 2018




September 2017

October 2017

Nov./Dec. 2017

January 2018

February 2018

March 2018

April 2018

May 2018

June 2018






November 10, 2016 (Summary)

January 12, 2017 (Summary)

March 13, 2017 (Summary)

April 25, 2017 (Summary)

May 25, 2017 (Summary)