At its regular meeting on Oct. 26, the Board of Trustees recognized 15 well-deserving students for being nominated for 2020 Honouring Spirit: Indigenous Student Awards

Sponsored by the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA), in collaboration with the College of Alberta School Superintendents (CASS), the Alberta School Councils' Association (ASCA), and the Alberta Teachers' Association (ATA), these annual awards recognize First Nations, Métis, and Inuit students who model strength and commitment in the pursuit of their education by embracing their gifts, strengths, and cultural traditions.

The virtual celebration included congratulatory videos and a traditional blessing by Edna Arcand, our Division's elder from Alexander First Nation; a video with comments from the teachers who nominated these exceptional students, as well as photos of each nominee; and comments from the Board Chair on behalf of the Board of Trustees.


Congratulations to each one of this year's worthy nominees!

École Georges H. Primeau Middle School

  • Arcand, Ava (grade 7)
  • Jackson, Brooklyn (grade 8)
  • Vermette, Luke (grade 7)
  • Whitford, Asya (grade 7)

Legal School

  • Ladouceur, Jacik (grade 3)
  • Languedoc, Jeremiah (grade 1)
  • Languedoc, Riley (grade 1)

Neil M. Ross Catholic Elementary School

  • Callinan, Braelynn (grade 3)

St. Albert Catholic High School

  • Arcand, Brady (grade 11)
  • Harvey, Teigan (grade 11)
  • Hoffman, Hunter (grade 11)
  • Nolin, Julia (grade 11)
  • Paul, Shelby (grade 12)
  • Smith, RJ (grade 11)

Vincent J. Maloney Catholic Junior High School

  • Stevenson, Harmony (grade 9)