Greater St. Albert Catholic Schools’ (GSACRD) Board of Trustees will have a new chair and vice-chair for the 2020-2021 school year.

At its annual organizational meeting on June 22, the Board unanimously elected trustees Noreen Radford and Réne Tremblay, respectively, for the two roles, which will take effect on Aug. 31.

“I am pleased to have this second opportunity during my time as a trustee to serve as Board Chair,” Radford says.

“I will continue to work with my fellow trustees to provide strong governance that will further the success of our students.”

Tremblay echoes Radford's thoughts.

“I look forward to supporting the board chair and the Board of Trustees in furthering a culture of excellence within our jurisdiction,” he says.

Radford and Tremblay will replace outgoing chair Joe Becigneul and outgoing vice-chair Joan Crockett, both of whom will continue to serve in these capacities until their terms expire at the end of August. Trustees Becigneul and Crockett will continue to serve as board trustees next year.

The Board’s annual organizational meeting is an opportunity for trustees to hold elections for the upcoming school term and to appoint trustees to various local, regional, and provincial committees for the next year. The Board also decides on regular meeting dates, times, and locations; delegates signing authority; appoints an auditor; and makes decisions on other important Board matters for the new school year.

About the Board of Trustees
GSACRDS’s Board of Trustees provides governance and policy leadership to the Division. The Board is comprised of seven trustees who are elected by the public every four years and who represent the wards in which the Division’s schools are located.

To learn more about GSACRD’s current trustees, read their bios.

> > > Download news release (.pdf - 285 KB)